By God’s Grace and Mercy

Daily Post: Tell us about a bullet you’re glad you dodged — when something awful almost happened, but didn’t.

“Dodged” is not the word I would use, but I would say it’s only by God’s grace and mercy I’ve been spared dying twice and paralysis.

I almost died when I was an infant.  I suffered from really bad asthma and according to family members one of them almost took my life and I wasn’t even two.

The other instance was when I was driving home from work.  My manager was in a generous mood and let a few of us go home early.  As I’m driving I notice how eerily calm the traffic is for the middle of rush hour in the DC Metro area.  I remember thinking to myself, “Sweet.  I’ll get home in less than 30 minutes”, which is absolutely unheard of for that time of day.  I remember changing lanes and then seeing fellow motorists opening my car door.

According to what witnesses told the state trooper, I changed lanes and lost control of my car.  I hit the cement highway dividers and an abandoned minivan and went back out into two lanes of traffic and no one else hit me.  I managed to escape relatively unscathed.  A bit of glass in my hands, a seatbelt burn, and a broken leg — nice clean beautiful tibia/fibula break.  My car on the other hand was D.O,A.

Unfortunately, what was once a quick and easy rush hour ride home for motorists quickly turned into a slow and painful ride home.  My sister’s fiancée got caught in the traffic backup I caused and I missed my date with my boyfriend.

I managed to escape being paraplegic.  Narrowly.  I couldn’t understand why my back was hurting so badly and I was dragging my right leg all the time.  At first I thought the pain was from my scoliosis but had no idea why my leg was dragging.  When I finally went to my orthopedist, he discovered I had hyperrelexia; which in a nutshell means I had some type of spinal cord injury.  Yay me!  A T5-T6 herniated disk that was chillaxin’ on my spinal cord was causing all the problems

My mom often says, “God has something planned for you.”  Not sure what that something is but it’s gotta be big.

nablo_13_250      NaBloPoMo_November_small        nanopoblano-1

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Листья на заборе | Markovich Arts
  2. Spinning a Web of Words | In Harmony
  3. Silence in the Metro | MC’s Whispers
  4. Close | The Magic Black Book
  5. A knife and “you don’t love me so you have to die” | RPMAS
  6. Daily Prompt: Close Call | 3 Nish on a Journey
  7. Daily Prompt: Close Call | Insanitree
  8. Daily Prompt: Close Call | Basically Beyond Basic
  9. Daily Prompt: Close Call | Under the Monkey Tree
  10. Close. | Hope* the happy hugger
  11. Daily Prompt: Close Call | Awl and Scribe
  12. That One Time I Almost Got Married | Dear Yolandi
  13. A(n?) Haiku for you… | thoughtsofrkh
  14. Live peacefully | crookedeyebrows
  15. Just missing the femoral artery | alienorajt
  16. DAILY PROMPT: TOO CLOSE TO CALL | SERENDIPITY
  17. The man with nine lives: Part III | noah121weiss
  18. 25/11 Daily Prompt: Close Call | Family, Photos, Food & Craft
  19. Close Call: Nowhere Man | James Clegg
  20. A Petulant Pimple and a Middle Finger Salute | sayanything
  21. ermahgerhd | Almost Dead
  22. Walk in the dark. | Whispered Words
  23. Daily Prompt: Close Call | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  24. On the Road Again With A Close Call | Kansa Muse
  25. So close…. | Inside of love
  26. Close Call | Flowers and Breezes
  27. Close as a close thing | Kate Murray
  28. Woke Up As A Eunuch* | Finale to an Entrance
  29. Living on… | Haiku By Ku
  30. The Train On The Track | The Jittery Goat
  31. Molotov cocktail | Life is great
  32. Daily Prompt: Close Call – Why I Won’t Ride a Bike | I Hope You’re Taking Notes
  33. Daily Prompt: Close Call | Sued51’s Blog
  34. Close Call | A mom’s blog
  35. Daily Prompt: Close Call | Active Army Wife
  36. Law III: To every action there is always an equal and opposite reaction. | Sorrow & The Liberation
  37. My Stay in the Matrix: The Bullet I Dodged | The Arkside of Thought
  38. Close Call | Going New Places!
  39. An Upturned Soul
  40. Want To Go For An After Midnight Ride in my Van? | An Upturned Soul
  41. Running against the stream | Historiefortelling
  42. Daily Prompt: Close | Lostinthot
  43. Close | On Thick Ice – The Spurious Imaginings of Reality
  44. It’s a war zone around here! | Rob’s Surf Report
  45. So close but so far that we couldn’t see each other | Laura’s Little Things
  46. Close |
  47. A close call: Dodged a bullet | My Weary Heart
  48. Daily Prompt: Close Call | Poetry
  49. A Close Call: Finding out when I found out | baja querida
  50. The secret service of our society | Le Drake Noir
  51. Close Call | Crowing Crone Joss
  52. Free Spirit – Daily Prompt: Close Call | babystepstowriting
  53. Daily Prompt: Close Call | Hear Em Rant Oft
  54. Daily Prompt : Close Call | Valley Girl Gone Country
  55. Daily Prompt: Close Call | SIM | ANTICS
  56. MASTERING GRATITUDE | Emotional Fitness
  57. A close call | Dhikrcave
  58. First you save a life | Muddy River Muse
  59. Dodging a bullet of the past, perhaps literally | Ryan Erickson
  60. Dodged Bullets — My Relationship Kevlar | thisblogisepic
  61. Close Call | Momma Said There’d Be Days Like This
  62. This doesn’t make sense | tjbarkerseattle
  63. Return of Cloud Capture Monday: A Close Call | Light Words
  64. Daily Prompt: Close Call | Crow Arrow, Inc.
  65. Daily Prompt: Close Call | jane sleeps here
  66. Daily post: Seems I’ve dodged the dodging | helen meikle’s scribblefest
  67. Daily Prompt: Close Call | Finding Life
  68. Claustrophobia | Gilded Warrior
  69. Daily Prompt: Close Calls with the second criminal class | @ The West Gate
  70. Dodging Bullets | Wiley’s Wisdom
  71. Introduction to “Post A Week 2013.” | Greg Urbano
  72. “Close Call” Post A Week 2013 | Greg Urbano
  73. Daily Prompt : A close call | Journey of an Idea
  74. Daily Prompt: Dodged the bullet | ferwam
  75. Daily Prompt: Close Call | thirtythrees
  76. Close, But No Cigar | tuckedintoacorner
  77. did we miss a bullet literally? quite possibly | wise monkeys abroad
  78. Daily Prompt: Close Call | polymathically
  79. Reprimand | vic briggs
  80. Daily Prompt: Close Call | adorablyobnoxious
  81. Close Call | The Nameless One
  82. Innocents … lost | LynnSlyWrites
  83. Busy Mama » Dodged Bullets — My Relationship Kevlar
  84. Daily Prompt: Close Call | Nola Roots, Texas Heart
  85. Close call… | Life as a country bumpkin…not a city girl

3 thoughts on “By God’s Grace and Mercy

  1. You did not miss the but got hit…… but your inner strength lets you be fine. If this is a story (fictional) then it is truly great.

  2. Gee, I missed the opportunity to blog about this, well, at least on-time. I’ll have to tell my story later, it’s too long to post here. BUT, you certainly dodged the bullet with your story! AND I agree with your mother, God’s got something planned for you! :D

I'd Love to Know What You Think (Constructive Criticism)

