Day 3 of 30 Day Writing Challenge

30 Day Writing Challenge Prompt: Write a story that takes place in an airport terminal

“Stop!” the security officer yells. “We’ve got a runner at Gate 14” he radios

Suddenly the terminal fills with police, FBI, and Air Marshall’s.  However, the runner alludes them every step of the way.  Suddenly the runner gets knocked to the ground.

“I have to get on that plane,” the runner says trying get free from being pinned to the ground.  “My son is being kidnapped.  Please, I have to get on that plane.” The plan taxi’s down the runway.  “Help me,” the runner screams in desperation.

One of the Air Marshall’s radios to have the plane return.  ” I have full custody.  My ex-husband, Richard, has supervised visits and has threatened to take him.  When the social worker didn’t show up, I knew something was wrong, so I went to his place.”

“You broke in?” the Air Marshall asked.

“No. Not exactly.  It’s the house we used to share and I still have a key.  Anyway, I saw a printed confirmation for two tickets, leaving today for Belize — 1 minor and 1 adult.

“Do you have a current picture of your son?” the Air Marshall asked.

“Yes.  His name is Connor.”

The Air Marshall and an FBI agent board the plane and exit a few minutes later with Connor and Richard.

“Why?” the runner asks.

“I didn’t take him because of the divorce.  I took him because I didn’t want him to know that his mother is his father.”

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Lay it on me

