Caution

“C-A-U-T-I-O-N,” Lilly said slowly.  “What does that spell?” she asked pointing at the yellow tape on the water fountain.

“Let’s sound it out together,” Mrs. Patrick said.

“kaw-shuh n” Lilly and Mrs. Patrick said together.

“What does that mean?”

“It means: to warn or to advise that something is dangerous.”

“Oh.  So kinda like when I told Kristin if she bounces Tim like that, he’ll throw up?

“Yeah, I guess so.”

“Hmph” Lilly said.  “Kristin didn’t listen to me and Tim threw up all over her.”

Mrs. Patrick tried not to laugh.

“Maybe, I should wrap him up in CAUTION tape.  That way she’ll know not to bounce him like that.”

“Maybe.”

Lilly continued walking down the hall. “Actually, I don’t think that will help.  Mom always says, ‘she’s dumb as a box of rocks and that she can’t follow directions if her life depended on it’ No.  That won’t work.”

==================================

I found this flash fiction site a little while ago, but just really haven’t had time to participate.  It’s called Flash! Friday and every Friday they post a new prompt at 12:01 am (EST).  The prompt is only up for 24 hours, so you’ve got to get to thinking and writing quick if you want to get in on it.

So this week’s prompt (Flash! Friday #44) was the following photo.  I hope you enjoyed and please feel free to leave a comment letting me know what you think.

Tags: , , ,

Lay it on me

