Day 5: NaBloPoMo — The Job

She closed her eyes and took in a deep breath.  Exhausted Meredith had driven two hours from her last job, and it was the first time she felt unsure of herself.

“I don’t know if I can go through with this,” she told Jo.

“You gettin’ soft on me?”

“No.”

“So, what’s the problem?”

“I don’t know.  I’m really tired,” Meredith said.

“Well this isn’t really the type of job you have a real opportunity to sleep.”

“But Jo, I’ve been working non-stop for weeks.”

“Well, we’ve got clients that need to be serviced.”

“The last two, I almost couldn’t finish.”

“Well, you’re there nice and early. Lay down, take a nap, and I’ll call you when he’s on his way” Jo

paused. “This has to go off without a hitch.  Just follow the instructions to the letter and it’ll be over before you know it.”

***

There’s a light knock at the door and Meredith takes one last look around.  Her overnight is case open on the dresser next to the TV.  It was open so he could see the toys and lingerie and for the job to be captured on film.

“Tyler,” she said opening the door.

“Yes. Meredith?” he said

“Yes.  Come in.”

“Thank you,” he said walking into the room.

She poured Tyler a drink and with two gulps the glass was empty.  He put the glass next to the overnight case.

“Nice,” he said picking up a negligee’s.

“Thank you.”

“Where do we start?

“Patience.”

Merredith pulled out the handcuffs and instructed him to sit in the chair next to the desk.  She cuffed his hands behind his back and then each one of his legs to the chair.  Meredith then took a pair of scissors and cut off his clothes.  After she finished she used a piece of his pant leg for a gag.

From a hidden compartment in the overnight case she pulled out a knife and held it close to his face.  “You see,” she said “I’m supposed to kill you. But before I do, there’s some information I need.”

“Shit! She’s gone off script,” Jo yelled

Meredith flicks the knife against Tyler’s left cheek.  He winces in pain and a blood red tear begins to stream down his cheek.

“You see usually this takes a long time,” she says standing up and walking around the chair.  “Sometimes hours.” I once had a guy hold out on for two days.  No matter what I did to him.  I even threatened to cut off his balls and shove them in his mouth, but that didn’t seem to faze him.”

“Ashley,” Jo yelled. “Get over there now!”

“But I really have no patience for that tonight. I’m tired and I want to go home.”

There’s another knock on the door.  “Hey, Mer it’s Ashley.  Can I come in,” she said quietly and calmly

“Go away Ashley.  I got this.”

Tyler is squirming and whimpering in the chair.

“Stop squirmimg” she says.  She stoops down in front of him and looks him squarely in the eye.  “This is how this is going to work.  I will ask you a question.  You will blink once for yes and twice for no.  Is that clear.”

Tyler doesn’t respond.

“Is that clear,” she yelled as she flicked the knife across his genitals.

Tyler blinks once for yes.

Meredith fires off question after question for an hour and Tyler either blinks once for yes or twice for no.

When she asked all the questions, she got up, thanked him for his time, and left.  “Someone will be in momentarily to clean up the mess,” Meredith says as whe walked out the door.

“Roger take care of her,” Jo said.  “She’s a loose cannon and we can’t have that.”

“I apologize for my colleague,” Ashley says as she enters the room.  “She’s made a right mess out of this.  She really wasn’t supposed to leave it this way,” she says closing the case.  Ashley walks behind Tyler and puts her hands on either side of his head and twists until she hears a crack and feels his body relax.

As she left the hotel, Meredith knew she would be Jo’s next target.

 

Tags: , , ,

12 responses to “Day 5: NaBloPoMo — The Job”

  1. dailyshorts says :

    Thanks Suzanne! I actually saw this on your blog and thought I’d give it a try.

    Like

  2. Suzanne says :

    Working with your spouse can really ruin your marriage! I love how creative this is. Great pacing, great use of misdirection.

    Thanks for linking up with us at the Speakeasy this week!

    Like

  3. Justice says :

    Very quick pacing! Definitely a thriller 🙂

    Like

  4. dailyshorts says :

    Nope, defintely not your ordinary job. I’m glad the misdirection worked where it was supposed to. Thanks for stopping by.

    Like

  5. jannatwrites says :

    That’s not an ordinary job, that’s for sure! At first, I thought it was going to be a prostitution thing, but the knife pretty much cleared that up 🙂

    Like

  6. Christine says :

    Creepy, dark story. That first conversation is great – it starts off so ordinary, but by the end you can tell something off-kilter is going on. You switch back and forth between tenses a bit, which is easy enough to fix. The switch in perspective in the last four lines (from Meredith’s POV to Jo’s) was a little confusing – I can visualize it as if it were on screen (cut to Jo on the phone) but you might consider adding a line after “Meredith knew she had a target on her back” to show that, maybe, she overheard the start of the conversation. All in all the story made me shiver a little, and I’m interested to know where Meredith is going and what she will do next. It would be a great opening to a large piece, I think. Nice job!

    Like

  7. rarasaur says :

    Wow, that dropped me right into the world. I enjoyed the pace– it kept everything very real. 🙂

    Like

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. The Many Faces Of Tyler! | LuluChris58 BloG - November 11, 2013

Lay it on me

