SoCS – An Unfortunate Incident

socs-badge-2015When I saw today’s SoCs prompt – food, I immediately thought back to a couple of weeks ago. It was Super Bowl Sunday to be exact. I was prepping vegetables for an omelet when one finger decided it was not going to get out-of-the-way of the super sharp ceramic knife. Well, needless to say this unfortunate incident required a trip to the emergency room.

wp-1454879317683

Since I tried to sever the tip of my finger, I’ve done very little that involves a knife other than a butter knife or one of those serrated plastic knives, which by the way – although they may not relieve your hand of a much-needed digit, they do hurt. I’ve probably lost a couple of pounds because of my lack of cooking. Hip hip hooray. Anyway, I’ve had more salads than I care to think about, oatmeal, cream of wheat, PB&Js, tuna sandwiches and anything you cut with a plastic knife. I even had the guy at the cheese counter slice my cheese.

Anyway, it’s healing rather nicely. When I went to the grocery store today, I decided that today is the end of the fear of the ceramic knife. I loaded up on vegetables and a few other things that will require using a proper knife. The interesting part is I don’t particularly care for cooking, but I actually missed preparing halfway decent healthy meals.

Sunday’s dinner will consist of a few specialties.

  • thin cut pork chop lightly floured, quick fried to brown and finished in the oven
  • smashed zucchini with garlic and red chile peppers
  • caramelized fried apples
Tags: , ,

3 responses to “SoCS – An Unfortunate Incident”

  1. John Holton says :

    OW! I’ve never gone to that extent in hurting myself. I sliced the side of my thumb open one day when I laid it down on a sharp carving knife, but never tried to cut anything open…

    Hey, have you been getting the emails I’ve been sending about minion stuff? I haven’t heard from you, and I’m starting to wonder if I have your right email… I very much would like to count you among Holton’s Heroes…

    Like

  2. dalecooper57 says :

    Ouch and Yum, in that order.

    Like

Lay it on me

