Day 14: Cleo [L]amb

Cleo Lamb always greeted you with a smile and a bubbly hello. She always came with a helping hand and words of encouragement. Then one day all of a sudden it changed. There were no smiles, no more bubbly hellos or helping hands or words of encouragement. Nothing. It was if the Cleo Lamb we knew ceased to exist.

Rumors started to swirl about who the real Cleo Lamb was is. Some said she was a spy. Others said something must have just snapped in her head. I maintained there was something darker and more sinister at work, but the people in town called me crazy.

I remember going over to Cleo’s house and her inviting me in. She offered me tea. We sat and talked. It was like having the old Cleo Lamb back. Then suddenly everything went dark.

I woke up on a table unable to keep my body from relaxing. I hear the man in the surgical mask say. ‘We’ll have to send this one to Becker, they lost another subject last night.’

I don’t know how long I had been asleep, but I woke to someone saying, ‘good morning Ms. Lamb, we trust you slept well.’

‘We’ve heard a lot about you and believe you’ll make a fine addition to the program.’

They helped me off the bed. We walked out of the room and down a short hallway to what looked like a common area. I looked around and everyone had the same face. Cleo Lamb. I stood in the entryway and they all turned and greeted me in unison.

‘Welcome Cleo Lamb number one hundred and twenty-four.’


If you haven’t seen the post about the new Collaborative Writing Project: Ink Fusion please take a look and you’d like to take part let me know over here in the comments.

Tags: , , , ,

4 responses to “Day 14: Cleo [L]amb”

  1. Roger Karny says :

    Just checking your blog again… hope the ankle heals quickly.

    Like

  2. ipsyb says :

    Wow! Lovely story. Dropped by from the A to Z Challenge and am so glad I did. Gonna hang around fora while reading the older stuff!

    Like

  3. C R Ward says :

    Whoa! What’s going to happen with all those Cleo Lambs??? Great story!

    Like

  4. shanjeniah says :

    Creepy! More, please?!

    Boldly Going Through the Alphabet!
    @shanjeniah
    Part-Time Minion for Holton’s Heroes
    shanjeniah’s Lovely Chaos

    Like

Lay it on me

