5 Things I’m Afraid to Write About

The Daily Post at WordPress has yet another great topic, to make you say hmmm.

I really had to think about this.  What five things am I afraid to write about?  I thought that everything was pretty much fair game, but that’s not true.Topics I have steered away from:

  1. Myself
  2. Religion
  3. Homosexuality
  4. Politics
  5. My Failures
Perhaps these fears will become a thing of the past in the near future.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

7 responses to “5 Things I’m Afraid to Write About”

  1. liz2you says :

    Three out of 5, the same as yours I guess.
    Am I a ninny?

    Like

  2. MaliseForest says :

    Thanks for commenting on my post!
    Yeah, I seem to have the same problem when writing flash fiction. The word limit is my enemy. :/
    Anyway, onto your five fears… no mentioning as to why? I’m always curious why people are afraid of writing about certain things. I think the only thing on your list I’d be half afraid of talking about would be myself (because that’s private, ya know?) and politics (because I try to keep up, but I’m not 100% knowledgeable and I hate looking stupid..)
    Well, have a good day!

    Like

    • dailyshorts says :

      Well, MaliseForest — I would have to say the primary reason for not writing about #’s 2-3 is the volatility of it all not due to lack of knowledge. I attend church every Sunday, have friends that are homosexual, and I know a a couple of local politicians. So, I guess you could say in a sense there might be some fear of offending people I know. Which now that I think about it has never really concerned me before. Hmmmm.

      Like

      • MaliseForest says :

        Just Malise would be fine.
        Ah, I see what you’re saying. I don’t really get bothered by that though. The more volatile the subject, the more people get all upset or whatever about it, which means more views. *shrug* Plus, I’m not going to mask my own feelings/opinions so as to not hurt someone’s feelings.
        Huh… I’ve grown from being super concerned about offending people to just saying it lately. It’s weird thinking how much I’ve changed in that aspect.

        Like

  3. Tammy says :

    I’ll definitely be sleeping on this as today’s post was about Farmer Blessings – nothing scary about it! I am afraid of a lot of things, I am also brave about a lot of things. I am afraid to write about things now that I might not have been 10 years ago, I might choose to write about things from 10 years ago that I would have been afraid to write about then. Maybe that will help me get the process started. Thanks for trying to instill movement and growth with this topic!

    Like

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. The Daily Post at Wordpress Challenge « A Short A Day - October 11, 2011

Lay it on me